You Know My Steez

December 22, 2009 at 3:55 pm (Uncategorized)

As a beatmaker I’m constantly studying how other guys flip samples and trying to learn from them. Especially guys like Pete Rock and DJ Premier, who’ll make any producer jealous for how they can take seemingly insignificant sounds and turn them into the brightest, dopest melodies possible. I’ve been sampling some Joe Simon lately (my new song “Maria You are Swell” is built out of his “Message From Maria”) and I was curious if anybody else’s touched him much… turns out one of my favorite beats ever is built out of a song of his called “Drowning in the Sea of Love” – funny thing is, I listened to this song while digging through his stuff for sample material and thought, nah, nothing to use there.  Listen to how Premier flipped this! It’s insane. First, the original:

So, just taking those little baby guitar notes at the beginning, Premier made this song  for Gang Starr, “You Know My Steez”:

It’s just not fair. I hope this gives you a little more respect not only for DJ Premier, but for the art of flipping samples in general.

Leave a Reply

