Thoughts at 4 a.m.

January 15, 2010 at 11:31 am (Uncategorized)

Been making beats for the last five or six hours, I guess… I didn’t even realize it. Chopped some breaks for ’em, which I don’t normally do. I think I have to start, that shit’s fun. This is for the next Urban Sleep package – which is taking a little while because I’m getting kinda ambitious with it. It’s turning out to be a ten minute blend, something to trip out and maybe even dance to. But almost done. Maybe tomorrow night. If not, definitely in time for Saturday dance parties.

I miss dance parties. Back when I lived in Boston we used to always have one room in the house that was just pitch black and kids ballin out. Usually to Daft Punk or Girl Talk or, at the time, we danced to a lot of  Da Bush Babees, who’re great and very worth checking out and dancing to if you haven’t already. Lots of Big L too. Got a cool book today by Brian Coleman called Check the Technique, which is fascinating. It’s liner notes for 36 influential albums, basically telling the story behind each one then breaking it down track by track. It’s got Wu Tang’s 36 Chambers, Tribe’s Low End Theory, Black Moon’s Enta Da Stage, Pharcyde’s Bizarre Ride II… I just read the entry on Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth’s Mecca and the Soul Brother today and it was dope

I’m back to being a monk in Portland, gettin’ down to work. Being in Boston for a couple weeks made me think Portland is warm all of the sudden. But I swear I’ve seen more rain here in the last few days than I’ve seen the entire month I was gone.

I’m  going to brush my teeth.

Leave a Reply

