Alarmed

January 19, 2010 at 2:54 am (Uncategorized)

The sun came out in Portland today! It came out in spurts so it made the cloudy sky look fake bright. To celebrate I thought about going into the woods but didn’t. For the next couple weeks I’ll be bringing my Swallowdown book to a close, and that feels good. 

I just finished Mike Daily‘s novel Alarm the other day. I was originally drawn to it at Bizarro Con, where Mike was also in attendance; I saw it came with two CDs and I really don’t know many other people trying to work music and writing into a unified project. I was stoked with the result. The music itself is great – the juxtoposition of Mike’s reading over the textures of his band, Mick O’Grady, works to create a combined sense of revelation and derangement – like the echoes inside the mind – and the novel creates a similar feeling, in a more silent, reflective way. It traces the thought patterns of a narrator becoming increasingly detached from the world, articulated by the kneejerk thoughts of the “alter-narrator”, who pretty much hates the primary narrator and eventually engulfs the book. I love how much we get into the narrator’s head with writing as simple as this:

“The drugs don’t work. The pubs don’t work. The moonlight drives don’t work. The books don’t work. The movies don’t work. The records that used to work don’t work.”

Anyway, expect soon to hear some audio tracks, Gasoline Monk under Mike Daily’s words. 

I love Gravediggaz’ 6 Feet Deep, just got it on repeat lately. People might call me crazy but I really think it’s one of the best projects RZA’s ever been involved in. I’m going to do very little tonight, do only what I feel like I have to do.

2 Comments

  1. JRJ said,

    That first Gravediggaz 6 Feet Deep is amazing, and RZA is still doing his early, angry, pre-powerlisp flow. Most people view it as a RZA produced album, but it’s really Prince Paul that kills it.

    He is missed on the second album, though it has some dope tracks.

    I’ve never heard the EP they did with Tricky…

    • forrestarmstrong said,

      Yeah man. That’s what’s so great – Prince Paul’s the shit, and besides adding his own flavor he seems to filter everything bad out of RZAs style and amplify everything good. A Wu-head must.

      Can’t imagine they made another one without him… that kinda stifles 50% of their vibe right off the bat…

Leave a Reply

