Dali’s “Alice in Wonderland”

February 8, 2010 at 11:19 pm (Uncategorized)

We spent the morning sitting around talking about surrealism and guys like Svankmajer, which led to thinking about Svankmajer’s interpretation of Alice, which led to thinking about Dali’s series of paintings interpreting the same things. The first time I was in Paris I went to a Dali museum, which changed my entire life. It was filled with sculptures of his works – the long-legged elephants, the girls with drawers coming out of them – and among the many paintings that were in there, almost all of which you’ll never find in the Dali source books, there was this beautiful series of  Alice in Wonderland works. I just wanted to post a few, because the fact that not even Jeff and Cam knew what I was talking about made me realize most people probably haven’t even seen these. And they’re astounding. I want to say there’s 12 of them total. Here’s three of them:

6 Comments

  1. Kat in the Hat said,

    Awesome & incredible!!!

    I’m quite a Dali-head myself & had no idea these existed!

    NOW I want to see all 12 of them somehow….

    *goes a-searching*

  2. Kat in the Hat said,

    WooHoo! Found links to all 12 of them here…

    info about & intro page (w/ridiculous pricing to buy)
    http://www.lockportstreetgallery.com/AinW.htm

    pictures of all 12 of them on these 2 pages:
    http://www.lockportstreetgallery.com/AinWG1.htm
    http://www.lockportstreetgallery.com/AinWG2.htm

    Incredible, no? YES!

    • forrestarmstrong said,

      Thanks for posting the link, Kat. I really was amazed by these – Dali brought such vivid color to the story. And stepped so far outside of his style to do so, but of course kept it surreal…

  3. MontyCantsin said,

    absolutely crucial!

    this blog is so fucking inspiring, Forrest!

    • forrestarmstrong said,

      Ah, thank you man 🙂 I do my best to bring together the things that inspire me – thank god you’re enough of an oddball to feel it too.

      These paintings really blew my mind, some of my favorite Dali stuff ever despite the fact that it’s sooo different from everything else of his.

  4. helena said,

    http://www.lockportstreetgallery.com/AinW.htm

    it says here that there are 200? Aside from the original 12? If anyone’s really interested, you could probably find them:) 🙂

Leave a Reply

