What the Shit

June 28, 2010 at 4:43 pm (Uncategorized)

Okay, I don’t LOVE Nikki Minaj. Let’s clear the air. Just an observation. I tried remixing some of her songs and the search for good acapellas actually made me like her less – but I swear if someone can put a fire beat under her verse from “Roger That,” they’ll have some great shit on their hands.

Not trying to back down from my words – she’s still the most refreshing thing we got on the radio. But I prefer the basement music.

I’ve been in the studio with Jdubeats – remember him? So when kids ask me what the next mixtape’ll be, I just say “Jdumonk” with a really serious face and walk away. I always knew this kid was great, been touched by his songs since the start – but when I sat behind the boards with him and watched the way he works, how fast he moves and how rapidly his mind is crackling and churning out new ideas, I really understood it. I threw one of our songs on at a party I DJed Friday night and the whole room bumped, so I think we’re doing something right.

Boston is humid as fucking hell, and my sleeping schedule’s all weird. Still reading and thoroughly enjoying Gabriel García Márquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude – it took me way too long to get around to it, but I understand why nobody shuts up about this book after they read it. Too bad nobody reads anymore. Break your illiteracy and read this book!

Sometimes I think about the Japanese alphabet and it’s always followed by a rush of nostalgia for childhood, before I started getting drunk and high all the time.

As a side note, when did LL Cool J start embarressing himself in public freestyle battles? “My penis is kinda small”?!?!

This is just a friendly hello from your neighborhood gasoline monk.

Leave a Reply

