Computer Love

September 6, 2010 at 1:21 am (Uncategorized)

Spent all day remixing Zapp & Roger’s insane 1985 track, “Computer Love.” This is what I got. I’ve been making a lot of music in this style lately, and a lot of it will be on my upcoming Ocean Telephones. I’ve been thinking of it as Monk House, or Boston House. It’s probably a manifestation of the tension inside me between hip hop and house – it’s got that four on the floor, dance-reckless feel, but a good 20 or 30 bpm slower than regular house, and built all out of samples. It’s just one of those things I’m obsessed with doing now. Other things I seem to be obsessed with at the moment include reading Irvine Welsh and getting in trouble with the police. Life is beautiful!

2 Comments

  1. Kat in the Hat said,

    Very cool!

    I can hear some of Farina’s deep-house influence in this too – especially some of the flanger/phase type dynamic changes.

    The tempo & other parts kinda remind me of some Daft Punk as well.

    I’d bump my ass in the club if this came on! 😀

Leave a Reply

